Posted by: Kate | January 11, 2010

new year

I was trying to come up with some New Year’s Resolutions, and I kept circling back to my diet and the role it plays in my lifestyle. This year, I will be focusing on cutting back on sugar, and making more food from scratch. I will try to bake more and use our land in more creative ways to put food on our table. This post from The Nourished Kitchen sums up what I am striving for pretty well.

We are ready to dig in to the new year. There is always something that needs to be done on this farm! We have some young roosters who are ready for the stew pot, some pregnant goats and sows who need to be pampered, and bees to ready for spring pollination.

I am starting this new year as an official employee of Lovers Lane Farm. After much discussion and consideration, Keith and I decided it was time for me to leave my job as a drug and alcohol counselor for youth, and come work for the farm. In addition to being a mom to Linnea, I will be filling orders, bottling and labeling, and working farmers markets. I am very excited about this new development!

As we look back at 2009, we are so grateful for all it brought us. Our bees were healthy and prosperous. They made lots of honey with the late spring rains. Our goats gave us milk and meat, and our chickens gave us eggs. The sows proved to be excellent mothers, and their piglets grew healthy and strong. We were blessed with a delightful and healthy daughter. We grew as individuals and as a farm. May 2010 bring us more of the same!

Leave a Reply

Categories

