Posted by: Kate | December 31, 2009

It’s been great staying in Portland. I grew up here, and miss it terribly. Portland has changed a lot since I was a kid. A lot of those changes make my eyes roll around involuntarily. It has become a magnet for hipsters, people perfecting their “look”.  I lost count of how many suspenders I saw holding up ratty jeans. Despite the experimental facial hair and copious tattoo parlours, Portland has some of the best coffee, food, beer, and handbags around. I miss that.

Keith and I practically live at Grand Central Bakery when we are here, and my friend Jess bought us their new baking book for Christmas. I’ll be baking my way through it as soon as I get home. Thanks Jess! I’m happy to be bringing a little of Portland back to Ukiah with me

We are excited to be coming home, however. We miss our Ukiah family, and our animals, and our home. We are looking forward to a new start, and brainstorming about ways to grow and expand our farm this coming year. There will be more pigs, more bees, more goat’s milk (and more goats), and hopefully one or two more products on the way. We can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

Categories

